The Brian Jonestown Massacre - Smoking Acid - Vinyl EP

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

2019 repress. 180-gram single LP version, on black vinyl, of The Brian Jonestown Massacre's Smoking Acid EP, originally released as a double 12" in 2009. Following the band's extensive tour of Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and a few select dates in New York (including at ATP supporting My Bloody Valentine et al.) in 2008, Anton Newcombe went to Berlin to focus on his next album. Four weeks before hitting the US tour in April 2009, Newcombe was bursting with ideas and went to Iceland where this five-track EP was recorded. Originally, Newcombe was heavily influenced by The Rolling Stones' psychedelic phase, but his work in the 2000s has expanded into aesthetic dimensions approximating the UK shoegaze genre of the 1990s and incorporating influences from world music, especially Middle Eastern and Brazilian music. This work mixes the traditional Brian Jonestown Massacre sound with Eastern influences and brings it up to date with the benefit of all the additional weirdness that's been discovered in the past 40 years.

Track Listing:
Disc 1: Smoking Acid EP
01. The Serious Matter 03:46 listen
02. Í Alvöru Talað 03:46 listen
03. Tempo 116.7 (Reaching for Dangerous Levels of Sobriety) 05:35 listen
04. Tempo 116.7 (Clean Acid/Dirty Beats) 05:22 listen
05. Super Fucked 06:36 listen