Superchunk - Cup of Sand - 3x Vinyl LPs

  • Sale
  • Regular price $28.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Back in print! On Record Store Day 2017, Superchunk released Cup of Sand, the band’s 2003 singles and rarities compilation, on vinyl for the very first time. The 3-LP package showcases Superchunk bassist Laura Ballance’s paintings from the CD art and features commentary by her, Jim, Jon, and Mac about every track on the album (the ones they remember recording, anyway). The original song notes have been expanded to include the three songs from out-of-print compilations that were added to this remastered vinyl edition.

Superchunk drummer Jon shares his clear memories on the occasion of the reissue:

I’ll be honest: this compilation came out 14 years ago, and I still don’t recognize the titles of 60% of these songs, despite drumming on all but one of them. You think Alan Alda remembers every M*A*S*H episode? I’m sure he can give a scene-by-scene breakdown of the show’s now-legendary final installment (“So Long, Farewell, Goodbye”) and yet have no memory whatsoever of the episode where they help an injured cow give birth (“The Birthday Girls”). It doesn’t mean that one episode is better than the other… ok… this argument doesn’t hold water, and I can see that now.

The songs on Cup of Sand may not have found homes on our studio albums, but that doesn’t mean they are unworthy of your time. Sure, a few didn’t make the grade, but most of these songs were recorded specifically for compilations, one-off 7”s, EPs, and soundtracks. “With Bells On”—a song I wrote the bulk of—was left off 1997’s Indoor Living in an effort by the others to keep me from buying a new motocross bike with the publishing money I’d have received. I cover this in much greater detail in my upcoming memoir, Wrongs I’ve Endured (PenguinLite).

This marks the first time Cup of Sand has been released on vinyl. We’ve even added three extra songs that weren’t on the original album. This was done to give fans something special, but also to help us realize our dream of one day releasing a three-LP set that somehow has eight fewer songs than Sandinista!

Yours in haste,

Jon Wurster


LP includes a coupon for a full download.

1 The Majestic (3:02)
2 Reg (4:25)
3 Her Royal Fisticuffs (3:36)
4 The Mine Has Been Returned to Its Original Owner (3:25)
5 A Small Definition (4:00)
6 Dance Lessons (2:59)
7 Basement Life (2:57)
8 Still Feed Myself (1:53)
9 Fader Rules (5:52)
10 Never Too Young to Smoke (5:01)
11 Detroit Has a Skyline (Acoustic) (3:44)
12 Does Your Hometown Care? (4:19)
13 Everyone Gets Crushed (3:53)
14 Beat My Guest (3:45)
15 With Bells On (3:11)
16 Clover (4:14)
17 Sexy Ankles (2:55)
18 White Noise (4:17)
19 Thin Air (2:05)
20 Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps) (4:39)
21 1,000 Pounds (Duck Kee Style) (3:32)
22 Anything Could Happen (3:20)
23 The Length of Las Ramblas (2:53)
24 Becoming a Speck (3:27)
25 The Hot Break (1:57)
26 A Collection of Accounts (4:33)
27 Freaks in Charge (3:49)
28 Blending In (1:22)