Superchunk - Acoustic Foolish - Vinyl LP

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

For the second of our special 30th anniversary releases from 2019, Superchunk, the band that started it all, surprised us with a new studio album! Acoustic Foolish is a complete re-recording of their classic 1994 album Foolish. Long considered to be one of the most tender and well-received albums in their storied history, the band was interested in re-exploring what the songs mean to them 25 years later. To quote bandleader Mac McCaughan, don’t expect some kinda “acoustic demos recorded 25 years after the fact” thing here… These are new full-band arrangements with contributions from some heavy hitters. Jenn Wasner (Wye Oak, Flock of Dimes) and Allison Crutchfield (Swearin’, P.S. Eliot) contribute guest vocals. Owen Pallett (the Mountain Goats, Frank Ocean, Arcade Fire) provides lush string arrangements, while Peter Holsapple (The dB’s, R.E.M.) plays piano and Matt Douglas (the Mountain Goats) is on saxophone.

A colored vinyl edition of the album was shipped exclusively to subscribers of our Born Under a Good Sign subscription series (not available as a standalone item).

Don't miss the Superchunk AF t-shirts and baby onesies, also available in our store.

1 Like a Fool (2019 Acoustic) (3:37)
2 The First Part (2019 Acoustic) (4:14)
3 Water Wings (2019 Acoustic) (3:45)
4 Driveway to Driveway (2019 Acoustic) (4:05)
5 Saving My Ticket (2019 Acoustic) (3:29)
6 Kicked In (2019 Acoustic) (3:50)
7 Why Do You Have to Put a Date on Everything (2019 Acoustic) (4:17)
8 Without Blinking (2019 Acoustic) (3:14)
9 Keeping Track (2019 Acoustic) (4:01)
10 Revelations (2019 Acoustic) (3:02)
11 Stretched Out (2019 Acoustic) (4:00)
12 In a Stage Whisper (2019 Acoustic) (3:47)