Soul Jazz Records- Various Artists - Soul of a Nation: Jazz is the Teacher, Funk is the Preacher - 3x Vinyl LPs

  • Sale
  • Regular price $50.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Soul Jazz Records’ new release ‘Soul of a Nation: Jazz is the Teacher, Funk is the Preacher’ is a powerful collection of radical jazz, street funk and proto-rap made in the era of Black Power (1969-75). This is the second ‘Soul of a Nation’ album featuring ground-breaking African-American artists exploring new Afro-Centric poly-rhythmical styles of music alongside Black Power and civil-rights inspired notions of self-definition, self-respect and self-empowerment in their own lives.

A1 –Art Ensemble Of Chicago* With Fontella Bass Theme De Yoyo 9:01
A2 –The Har-You Percussion Group Welcome To The Party 3:59
B1 –The Pharaohs (2) Damballa 7:54
B2 –Baby Huey Hard Times 3:17
B3 –James Mason Sweet Power Your Embrace 5:23
C1 –Byron Morris And Unity Kitty Bey 12:22
C2 –Funkadelic Nappy Dugout 4:33
D1 –Rashied Ali & Frank Lowe Exchange Part 2 (II) 6:11
D2 –Gary Bartz NTU Troop Celestial Blues 7:31
E1 –Oneness Of Juju Space Jungle Funk 9:50
E2 –Sarah Webster Fabio Work It Out 2:45
F1 –Tribe (Wendell Harrison & Phillip Ranelin)* Beneficent 7:01
F2 –Gil Scott-Heron Whitey On The Moon 1:58
F3 –Don Cherry Brown Rice 5:13