Leon Bridges & Khruangbin - Texas Moon - 12" Vinyl EP`

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.


1. Doris
2. B Side
3. Chocolate Hills
4. Father Father
5. Mariella

Two of the acts boldly leading Texas music into the future have now delivered
a second chapter of their groundbreaking collaboration, further extending the
region’s sonic possibilities. Singer/songwriter Leon Bridges, from Ft. Worth,
and trailblazing Houston trio Khruangbin have joined forces for the Texas
Moon EP, a follow-up to 2020’s acclaimed Texas Sun project. While the five new
songs are clearly a continuation of the first EP, they also have an identity all their
own—Bridges calls it “more introspective,” while Khruangbin bassist Laura Lee
says it “feels more night time.”
When Texas Sun was released, AllMusic called the results “intoxicating” and
Paste noted that “their talents and character go together so well.” Now comes
the next stage—a set of songs that touch on themes like love, faith, and death
while exploring new dimensions of inventive, hypnotic grooves.
Significantly, both parties’ musical directions were clearly affected by their time
working together. Khruangbin’s most recent album, Mordechai, moved their
own vocals much further forward, a change they readily admit was a direct
result of working with Bridges. Meanwhile, since these recordings began, in
addition to his genre-defying album Gold-Digger’s Sound, Bridges has put
out several other challenging, shared tracks, including work with John Mayer,
Lucky Daye, and Jazmine Sullivan.
Texas Moon represents a genuine and rare achievement, with two of the most
respected and innovative acts of their generation truly collaborating to create
something new. “As far as an essentially instrumental band, these guys are kind
of the top for me,” says Bridges. “I’m honored to have been the first singer that
they’ve incorporated in their music.”
“It feels really special to me,” says Lee. “It’s not Khruangbin, it’s not Leon, it’s this
world we created together.