Blaze Foley - The Dawg Years - Vinyl LP

  • Sale
  • Regular price $22.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

When Blaze, who was still Depty Dawg to us, sang at our dining table back in ’76 and ’78, he would be of a temper that was still juicy and ripe from his time in Whitesburg, Ga., when he fell in love with his muse Sybil Rosen, and they had lived in a tree in the woods. To me, these songs you have here are the summary of his time of rediscovering a happy innocence in Sybil’s arms. Our baby son is lovingly included at the table. Here, also, you find his innocent curiosity taking him to the threshold of the Dark World that he was beginning to discover and would soon get lost in.

Our portable Uher tape recorder, an excellent machine for field work, was brought out by my wife for those occasions. I would never have thought of it, because I only wanted to be washed in the live moment. Oh, we all thank you Margery!

In my life there’ve been many occasions when I experienced intense and wonderful live moments. Depty Dawg, at this time in his life, could create the best such moments, like a warming flame. With extreme and loving care, we are honored to bring him home to you.

– Billy, Margery, and Basil Bouris

1. You'll Get Yours Aplenty
2. I Should Have Been Home
3. Tree House Lullaby
4. Election Day
5. Let Me Ride in Your Big Cadillac
6. The Moonlight Song
7. Cold, Cold World
8. Instrumental
9. Fat Boy
10. Cosmic Doo Doo
11. Crawl Back to You
12. June or September
13. Livin' in the Woods in a Tree
14. Basil's Song
15. Rudee Down in New Orleans
16. New Wave Blues
17. Big Chief Hightower
18. Big Cheeseburgers and Good French Fries
19. Blaze Foley's 113th Wet Dream
20. Springtime in Uganda